• Diane received the Kiplinger Distinguished Contributions to Journalism award, given by the National Press Foundation to persons who have, through their vision and leadership, strengthened American journalism and furthered the efforts to establish quality in American journalism.


  • Diane received the 2013 National Humanities Medal, which honors individuals or groups whose work has deepened the nation’s understanding of the humanities, broadened our citizens’ engagement with the humanities, or helped preserve and expand Americans’ access to important resources in the humanities. Recipients are selected by the President of the United States in conjunction with the National Endowment for the Humanities.


  • Diane received Research!America’s Isadore Rosenfeld Award for Impact on Public Opinion on March 13, 2013, in Washington, D.C. The award is presented to a news media representative who has worked effectively to deliver medical or health research advocacy messages to the public.
  • Diane was honored as Arab American of the Year on April 27, 2013, in Detroit, Mich., at the annual dinner of ACCESS, formerly known as the Arab American Community Center for Economic and Social Services.


  • Diane was awarded an honorary degree from Shepherd University and spoke at the university’s commencement ceremony in May 2012.
  • Diane was awarded the Voice Education Research Awareness (VERA) Award from The Voice Foundation. The Voice Foundation is the world’s leading organization dedicated to the care and training of the human voice, and it presents the VERA Award annually to honor individuals selected for unusual interest in, and contribution to the field of voice communication.
  • The American News The American News Women’s Club (ANWC) honored Diane with its Excellence in Journalism Award. The ANWC is a professional association for members of the journalism and the communications professions.


  • Diane won a coveted George Foster Personal Peabody Award. The Peabodys, the oldest awards in broadcasting, are considered among the most prestigious and selective prizes in electronic media. Personal Peabody Awards are not given annually, and previous winners include Walter Cronkite, Bill Moyers, Oprah Winfrey, Bob Hope and others. The award honors Diane Rehm’s more than 30 years in public broadcasting as host of The Diane Rehm Show, calling the program the “gold standard in civic, civil discourse.”
  • The Diane Rehm Show was awarded a Shorty Award in the news category. The Shorty Awards honor the producers of the best real-time content on Twitter and are supported by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation.


  • Diane was awarded a Woman of Distinction Award at the National Conference for College Women Student Leaders. The award honors women who have had extraordinary accomplishments in their professions or their communities and who represent inspiring role models for women student leaders.


  • Toastmasters International District 36 gave their Communications and Leadership Award to Diane, to acknowledge her service and achievements that exemplify the highest standards of communication and leadership.
  • Diane received the Distinguished Washingtonian Award from The University Club.


  • Diane received the Lifetime Excellence Award from American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee.
  • Diane was given the CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield Palliative Care Award for Media Excellence from The Greater Washington Partnership for Palliative and End-of-Life Care.


  • Diane was the inaugural recipient of the Urbino Press Award (Italy). The award was created to recognize outstanding work by American journalists, and Diane was chosen by Italian officials for her “long and prestigious career in journalism and…special focus on the problems of human frailty.”


  • Diane was inducted into the Class of 2004 SPJ Hall of Fame by the Washington, DC Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ).
  • Clinical Social Work Leadership Award for her program’s focus on mental health issues.


  • Calvary Women’s Services Hope award. The honor recognizes Diane’s commitment to offering hope and empowerment to people, specifically women in need, through her volunteer and professional work.
  • Montgomery County Chapter of the National Organization for Women’s Susan B. Anthony Award. The award recognizes Diane’s exceptional work and commitment as an advocate for women’s rights throughout the community.


  • New York Festivals. Bronze World Medal for the category of “Best Regularly Scheduled Talk Program Interview,” for the program’s interview with author Elva Trevino Hart.
  • American Bar Association. Silver Gavel Honorable Mention for the program “Rape as a War Crime.”
  • Women in Communications. Diane was honored with the International Matrix Award for achieving the highest level of professional excellence in communications in both 2002 and 2000.


  • Millennium Award. Diane was honored by the Metropolitan Area Mass Media Committee of the American Association of University Women for her excellent coverage of local issues.


  • Society of Professional Journalists. Diane was named a Fellow, the highest honor the society bestows on a journalist, for extraordinary contributions to the profession.


  • New York Festivals. Bronze World Medal for the show’s interview with Holocaust survivor and author Yaffa Eliach.
  • American Women in Radio and Television Inc. Two first place Gracie Allen Awards. One in the national network radio personality category for the show’s “Focus on Women’s Issues” entry, and one in the national network radio personality category for the show’s “Women at Work” series.
  • Washingtonian of the Year. Diane was named a Washingtonian of the Year by Washingtonian Magazine. Diane serves on the board of the PEN/Faulkner Award Foundation. She recently became a board member for the International Women’s Media Foundation and is a trustee for Western Maryland College.
Most Recent Shows

Revisiting The Decision To Drop The Bomb

Thursday, May 18 2023As President Biden's visit to Hiroshima dredges up memories of World War II, Diane talks to historian Evan Thomas about his new book, "Road to Surrender," the story of America's decision to drop the atomic bomb.